scope   topics   dates   submission   committee   mailing list  contact us

The Scope

P2P2006 is the sixth in a series of annual conferences concerned with overlay network technologies. Overlay networks combine and share the resources owned by devices that are distributed around the Internet, which are normally relegated to the role of clients. Examples of such technologies include Peer-to-Peer Systems and Grids, but in general, any large-scale distributed system characterized by decentralization and sharing of resources can benefit from an overlay-based approach.

The focus of this year's conference is on applications. We invite papers that reflect experience with practical applications of the current state of the art, or that explore new application areas. We are interested in real, large-scale, deployed applications particularly, rather than "toy" examples composed of few nodes. The key issues to be considered are scalability, robustness, and security; we believe that these aspects are fundamental issues that must be solved before (legal) peer-to-peer and grid services will become mainstream.

Consistent with the previous occurrences of this conference, we promote a collaboration in research between academic institutions, government organizations, and business enterprises that are concerned with the research and implementation of peer-to-peer networks, grids, and large scale distributed systems.


Any topic that relates to peer-to-peer systems, grids, and large-scale distributed systems or overlay networks is open for consideration. We would like to give special encouragement to reports of experience with applications, with particular emphasis to those that treat problems
related to scalability, robustness and security:

P2P Applications and Services
   • P2P Storage and Content Distribution
   • P2P Databases and Warehouses
Security in P2P Systems
   • Authentication
   • Authorization
   • Key Management
Performance and robustness of P2P Systems
   • Replication
   • Result certification, quizzes
Object Discovery and Information Retrieval in P2P Systems
   • Range queries and approximate queries
   • Hybrid P2P Systems
Self-organization and Stability of P2P Systems
   • Overlay performance in unstable states
   • Generalized types of churn

Trust Management in P2P Systems
   • Incentives
   • Reputation
   • Control
Overlay architectures and topologies
   • Random graphs and gossiping protocols
   • Hierarchic overlays
   • Interconnections of overlays
   • Topology-aware overlays
P2P Systems and MANETS
   • Overview articles comparing the areas
   • P2P over MANET
P2P Economics
   • Business models
   • Incentive models and game theory
P2P Workload Characterization and Simulation

Papers will undergo a thorough peer review process before acceptance for presentation. We include all presented papers in the proceedings. The IEEE Proceedings hardcopy will be available at the Conference.

Links to the previous editions of this conference can be found at the following web site:

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline

New! 1 May 2006 (register your paper by 24 April 2006)

Notification of acceptance

8 June 2006

Camera ready papers due

23 June 2006


6-8 September 2006

*NOTE: At least one author of each accepted paper must register to the conference on or before the deadline of June 23.

Submission Details

Send anonymized (double-blind) paper submissions (pdf only) using our on-line service. Regular papers 8 pages; poster papers 2 pages. Paper formatting should follow IEEE guidelines (double column, size 10 font).

Submit your papers using the openconf system at this site. Registration of papers (by April 24) means to submit your title, authors, and abstract, without necessarily uploading the paper.

Organization Committee

Conference Chair:

Douglas Reeves, North Carolina State University, USA

Program Committee co-Chairs:

Alberto Montresor, University of Trento, Italy
Adam Wierzbicki, Polish-Japanese Institute of Information Technology, Poland

Local co-Chairs:

Christos Gkantsidis, Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Sandeep Singhal, Microsoft, USA

Steering Committee:

Nahid Shahmehri, Linköpings Universitet, Sweden (Chair)
Germano Caronni, Sun Microsystems Laboratories, USA
Nathalie Weiler, Credit Suisse, Switzerland

Program Committee:

Karl Aberer, EPFL, Switzerland
Fabian Bustamante
, Northwestern University, USA
Bruno Crispo, University of Trento, Italy
Christos Gkantsidis, Microsoft Research, UK
David Hales
, U. Bologna, Italy
Seif Haridi
, SICS, Sweden
Manfred Hauswirth, EFPL, Switzerland
Yiming Hu, University of Cincinnati, USA
Gianluca Iannacone, Intel Labs, UK
Mark Jelasity, University of Bologna, Italy
Marco Mamei, U. of Modena and Reggio-Emilia, Italy
Anne-Marie Kermarrec, INRIA, France
Cecilia Mascolo, University College London, UK
Martin May, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Alberto Montresor, University of Trento, Italy
Gianluca Moro, University of Bologna, Italy
Satoshi Nishiyama, KDDI, Japan
Douglas Reeves, N.C. State University, USA
Paolo Penna
, University of Salerno, Italy
Matei Ripeanu, University of British Columbia, Canada
Christoph Schuba
, Linköpings University, Sweden
Patrick Senac, ENSICA, France
Nahid Shahmehri
, Linkopings University, Sweden
Sandeep Singhal, Microsoft, USA
Hiroshi Sunaga, NTT, Japan
Orazio Tomarchio, University of Catania, Italy
Peter Triantafillou, University of Patras, Greece
Kurt Tutschku, University of Wurzburg, Germany
Marcel Waldvogel, University of Konstanz, Germany
Klaus Wehrle, University of Tuebingen, Germany
Nathalie Weiler, Credit Suisse, Switzerland
Adam Wierzbicki, Polish-Japanese Institute of Informatics, Poland

Torsten Ackemann
Toshiyuki Amagasa
Cosmin Arad
Sebastien Ardon
Marcel Baur
Marco Biazzini
Danny Bickson
Damiano Carra
Roberto Cascella
Vasilios Darlagiannis
Ralph Deters
Vassilios V. Dimakopoulos
Claudiu Duma
Luis Garces-Erice
Anurag Garg
Emir Halepovic
Khaled Harfoush
Kaname Harumoto
Naohiro Hayashibara
Noah Horton
Danny Hughes
Gian Paolo Jesi
Ajay Kshemkalyani
Marc Kramis
Kenji Leibnitz
Vincent Lenders
Ilias Leontiadis
Stefano Lodi
Ramprasad Madhavan
Nouredine Melab
John Miller
Gabriele Monti
Alberto Mozo
Mirco Musolesi
Kavitha Ranganathan
Rajiv Ranjan
Ravi Rao
Michael Rogers
Masahiro Sasabe
Aleksy Schubert
Ramin Shahriari
Hiroshi Shigeno
Alan Smith
Paul Smith
Ivana Stankovic-Kojic
Atsushi Tagami
Juha Takkinen
Kian-Lee Tan
Wen Tang
Yuuichi Teranishi
Douglas Thain
Laurent Vercouter
Rolland Vida
Antonino Virgillito
Naoki Wakamiya
James Walkerdine
Honghao Wang
Tang Wen
Yoji Yamato
Xiaoyu Yang
Keiichi Yasumoto
Jianjun Zhang
Zheng Zhang
Zheng Zhang
Xiaoming Zhou

Mailing list

Subscribe to our P2P mailing list and we will keep you posted regarding major additions to the schedule and other late breaking news.

To subscribe to the P2P mailing list please send an email to with the following body:


Contact us

Contact us by e-mail at



» 10-Sept-06, Thanks to all for a splendid P2P2006! The keynote speeches are now online, linked to the program page
» 06-Jul-06, An announcement of an opportunity for P2P2006 authors to submit an extended version of their papers to the J. of Computer Communications
» 22-Jun-06, Registration due date for authors is extended to July 2

09-Jun-06, Program of accepted papers is online


29-May-06, notifications are expected to be mailed 08 June

» 01-May-06, A record number of submissions (137 regular papers, 17 short papers)
19-Apr-06, Submission is extended to 01 May
14-Apr-06, Paper submission is now open

17-Jan-06, PC announced


20-Dec-05, CFP posted


18-Nov-05, Web page goes live